Home > New Arrivals >

Fighting Shadows
Fighting Shadows by Jefferson  Bethke and Jon Tyson

Price: $28.99
Sale Price: $26.10
Savings: $2.89
Author: Jefferson Bethke and Jon Tyson
Subtitle: Overcoming 7 Lies that Keep Men from Becoming Fully Alive
Format: Hardcover
Length: 209 Pages
Published: 2024

Stock Status:In Stock


Discover the satisfaction of becoming the man God created you to be. In a world that’s grown increasingly confused about--and hostile toward--the very notion of masculinity, authors Jefferson Bethke and Jon Tyson send a powerful call to men everywhere: it's time to step into the light of Jesus' vision for you as a man.

There's a shadow that's settled over the hearts of men today. Masculinity is in crisis. Critiques about the dangers of toxic masculinity and the abuses of patriarchal systems have grown louder than ever. The very notions of masculinity and manhood are under attack. In response to cultural shifts, some have doubled down on old stereotypes in ways that just add to the conflict and confusion.

The result? Many men simply feel paralyzed--worried about saying the wrong thing, unsure what to do with their ambitions or strengths, simultaneously tempted and shamed by a hypersexualized and pornified culture. Our models and mentors have failed us. Based on their years of working in men's ministry, Bethke and Tyson have good news for men looking for clarity and courage in this age of quiet desperation. In Fighting Shadows, they help men:

  • overcome the temptations of escapism, passivity, or overcompensation;
  • combat the most harmful shadows that men battle today, including loneliness, apathy, distraction, lust, and shame; and
  • embrace masculinity as a God-given gift, not a curse to be avoided, suppressed, or battled.

An entire generation of men is being told they should abdicate the responsibility and joy of living into God's calling on their lives—don't be one of them. If you're a man who's wondering what to do with your strength, your longings, and your gifts, it's time to step out of the shadows. Jesus has a vision for you.

Table of Contents:
Introduction: The Lie of the Shadows
Chapter 1: The Eclipse
Chapter 2: The Shadow of Despair
Chapter 3: The Shadow of Loneliness
Chapter 4: The Shadow of Shame
Chapter 5: The Shadow of Lust
Chapter 6: The Shadow of Ambition
Chapter 7: The Shadow of Futility
Chapter 8: The Shadow of Apathy
Conclusion and Call: Becoming Light